NaNoWriMo: Maybe, Maybe Not

Hey guys~

It’s October, and November’s next month, which means it will also be NaNoWriMo soon (National Novel Writing Month)! Given that college is sucking any life out of me, I’ve started thinking about if I want to give this a try this year or not. College has been busy for me, and I’m taking some hard classes this semester and working two jobs; so I don’t have too much time to write to begin with. Luckily, being in a Fiction Writing class is helping a little, even though I’m mainly writing new material rather than finishing incomplete stories. Still, anything that will get me to write, I’ll take it.

I haven’t really planned this out either. Well, at least a novel for NaNoWriMo. Right now, I’m writing these short stories that all take place in this “world,” and I’m thinking of knitting them together somehow into a novel-length story. Some of them will feature the same characters, as you may have seen if you read this blog, but in different settings and situations. Also, I have another story in the works that I haven’t touched in a little over a year, I think; don’t know how long it’ll end up though, but it’s fairly lengthy right now. However, aside from these projects, if I plan to do NaNoWriMo, I want to start fresh.

But as all us writers know, coming up with story ideas and planning them out can, and possibly is, the hardest part of the writing process. And, surprise, surprise, I got nothing for a 50,000 word story. Hell, I’m slowly trying to work my way up to a story that’s 10,000 words at a fairly inconsistent rate. Not to mention, I have a few other stories I want to at least get a complete first draft finished that are at least 5,000 words (which I consider a decent/average length of a short story).

So taking the leach that is college, other, personal writing projects, and the fact I have no idea what I want to do for next month, it sounds like there’s a possibility I won’t be doing NaNoWriMo this year. As November gets closer, and I get a better idea of how other things in my life are going, I may reconsider at least giving it a shot. If I make it, I make it; if I don’t, I don’t. Simple as that.

~TTFN

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Maybe, Maybe Not

  1. Balancing NaNo with school (among other things) is tough, but I think it would be worth it to give it a shot anyway. You never know what might come out of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

