Guest post: “Getting It Done: What Determines a Writing Quota?” by Franklin Leo

I know I need to write as often as I can. Now that I’m a month into my summer break from college, even with a full-time (technically seasonal) job, I honestly have no excuse NOT to write.

I completely agree to not necessarily have a 1,000 word quota, so long as I’ve written something. Reading is something I’ve noticed I’m doing more of now, and that’s something I should continue to do even when I’m back at college (I don’t count textbooks).

Furry Writers’ Guild

Getting It Done: What Determines a Writing Quota?

by Franklin Leo

Writing is hard, and even for the experienced, it continues to be difficult. Whether it’s editing or drafting, there’s always a point when we find ourselves unable to move forward simply because time is such a huge issue.

I’ve instructed and tutored writing to college students for a few years, and I have only recently started to come out more as a furry author, but the number one thing that I hear from other writers or hopeful-writers is that there’s too much going on in their life.

Stephen King says in his memoir On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft that it’s best for one to get around 1,000 words a day down and written into some piece he or she’s working on. That alone is around four pages, and to some, the idea of doing so much so…

View original post 502 more words

Leave a Reply

